FASHION

The Best of the Golden Globes 2017

I don’t know about you guys, but I literally only watch awards shows for the red carpets. And then to watch acceptance speech burns afterwards, but ya know anyway. Red Carpet fashion can keep me entertained for hours. You have your hits, your misses. Your fashion aficionado’s who use the spotlight for all kinds of statements, and those that you can’t really tell what or who made them show up in… that?

Fashion is more than just wearing cute clothes. It’s a way for you to express yourself and let your imagination run wild. Awards shows, galas, and other red carpet events showcase high fashion, the best of high fashion.

They bring the designs that I ogled and awed at from YouTube videos of runways shows to real life. That, my friends, is why I LOVE red carpets. Here are some of my favorite looks from the Golden Globes. I hope you enjoy!

 

  1. Lily Collins

 

FAV FAV FAV. Oh my goodness. She looked gorgeous, the dress was gorgeous, to me this look was PERFECT. Her Zuhair Murad masterpiece looked like something straight out of a fairytale. Lily looked every inch the lovely little princess she is. I loved how she wore her hair up and simply, at least for an updo, and allowed the dress to take the spotlight. Obviously she doesn’t need it, but the naturalness of her makeup paired with the red lip achieved the perfect element of boldness while still balancing with the lightness of the rest of the look. FLAWLESS. Lily Collins is the clear winner in my book.

 

2. Maisie Williams

IMG_1654.PNG

Like the queen said herself, total Belle vibes. I couldn’t dig it more. Usually I’m not the biggest ambassador of yellow, but Maisie’s Ong Oaj Pairam dress is to die for.

She entirely embodies Arya in real life, and in the Game of Thrones world, so she completely rocks the spunkiness  of the bright yellow. Her fantastic bronze smoky eye paired so nicely with the simplicity of the dress. The silver hair piece had all the right tiara vibes for me and made the bold princess look totally work. No complaints, babe.

3. Janelle Monae

IMG_1657.PNG

To say this look was debated in the fashion scene (like I even know what that is) is an understatement. In some articles it was on the best dressed list, and on others it was marked a fail. I happen to really enjoy it. Monae’s custom Armani was quirky and unique for a red carpet. Unlike most of the outfits on the carpet, you could actually see her shoes. You don’t always get to appreciate these kinds of things. Some say the polka dots were childish, but I think they’re fun. Apparently I have a thing for updo’s, but I can almost certainly say Janelle’s hair was my favorite that I’ve seen. The pearls added throughout her hair gave me flashbacks to Elizabeth Bennet’s (Keira Knightley) hair for Mr. Bingley’s party.  That might have been what sold it for me… nah, I actually just really like this look.

What do you think? Do you agree or think these were all flops? I don’t see how, but we’re all entitled to an opinion…. even if its incorrect 😉

Ta-ta for now!

Disclaimer- None of the pictures above are mine. They were all taken by fantastic photographers who were invited to the Golden Globes. I fail to fall under either of those categories.

To me, clothing is a form of self-expression- there are hints about who you are in what you wear. Marc Jacobs

 

 

Leave a Reply

