BOOK CLUB

An Abundance of Genres

At the end of my last book review I set out to read Stardust by Neil Gaiman. Not only did I finish that, but I also started and finished Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. I didn’t have any plans, what can I say. Today I’ll be reviewing both books. Let’s get started!


Stardust tells the story of Tristran Thorn and his journey to bring back a star to his love, Victoria Forester. The Village of Wall, where the story begins, successfully divides Stormhold from the human lands. No one is allowed to cross the wall except for every nine years on May Day when people cross for the Faerie market.

When Victoria Forester promises Tristran whatever he likes if he brings her back the star they saw, he ventures across the wall and into the land of Stormhold. He is soon caught in a world of magic and adventure where nothing is as he believed. Tristran must fight against time and the others that search for his star.

I really enjoyed this book. I watched the movie afterwards and, awh, so cute!


Madeline suffers from SCID, a disease that makes it impossible for her to leave her house without the threat of her looming death. For eighteen years she has lived in her bubble with only her mother and nurse Carla for company. For eighteen years she was fine with living in her bubble with her books telling her about the world she was missing. That was until a new family moved in, bringing Olly with them and a new and unignorable urge to live.

Okay, to be fair this isn’t the type of book I would normally pick up. It lacks magic, faeries, and a grand adventure but still, I didn’t really like it. That being said, the ending wasn’t super cliché and a lot of my friends loved it. Like everything it just depends on what you like.

The next book I’ll be reading is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. I started this before but I didn’t finish it. I’m not sure why because I remember enjoying it. Oh well, here goes round two!

As always be sure to tell me if you’ve read any of these and what you thought of them. Now I’m off to read. Bye!

The Lord will never leave you. Hebrews 13:5

Leave a Reply

