FITNESS

Abstravaganza

Hey everyone, Caitlin here. Track season has started and it’s given me some newfound motivation to workout. One of  my favorite body parts to exercise are my abs, or at least the area where my abs could be 😋Today I’ll be sharing my favorite because they work but least favorite because they hurt ab exercises!

A lot of these moves are from the P90X Ab Ripper X. It’s not ridiculously long but still offers a great workout. You can buy it from beachbody.com.

1.) V-Up Roll Ups

This is the move with the most steps out of the ones on this list. Start by lying on your back with your arms above your head. Don’t let your arms fly over your head while doing this move. You will then “roll up” and touch your toes, or as far as you can reach. As you roll back down and your lower back hits the floor, lift your legs into the air. The final step is to “v-up” and return to the first step.

2.) Planks

IMG_6377.JPGYou can’t go wrong with a classic. This is one move that starts out okay but gets worse the longer you hold it. Personally I feel it more in my arms, but it works either way. If you find yourself having a lot of difficulty holding this, move onto your hands and straighten your arms until you are in a pushup position.

 

3.) Russian Twists

Come one baby. Let’s do the twist. I like to cross my feet in the air but as long as they’re up you’re free to do whatever is the most comfortable for you. This pose is the most effective when you really twist to touch the ground on each side. You can hold a circle weight, weighted ball, or dumbbell in your hands to increase the difficulty.

4.) Bananarama

img_6385-1

I’ve always called this move “the banana” because that is the shape that you make with your body. The key to this move is to squeeze your abs and breathe. Challenge yourself and see how long you can hold the pose before you go “bananas.”

5.) In and Outs

For this move you’re going to place your hands on the mat or ground besides you. If it feels too easy for you crazy kids then you can lift your arms over your head. Then you simply move you legs in and out, being sure to tighten your abs and extend your legs.

And we’re done!

What are your favorite workouts? Let me know in the comments!

XOXO,

     Caitlin

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. Galatians 2:20

2 thoughts on “Abstravaganza

Leave a Reply

