LIFESTYLE

My Relationship With God

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I always end a post with a scripture. Sometimes it’s relevant to that post, and sometimes its totally random. For me, that’s an easy way for myself and others to connect to God for a quick minute.

Sometimes that’s the only time that day that I connect with God.

I grew up in a home that believed in God, but didn’t go to church. I used to feel so guilty and see God as this scary force who was going to smite me down because I wasn’t a “perfect” Christian. Then I realized Christians are far from perfect.

I still don’t go to church, but I got involve in my local Young Life program. That was one of the best decisions of my life. Young Life is for teenagers by people who truly see how AWESOME God is. Whenever I study with YL, it’s not like I’m just reading a page from a really old book or listening to the same speech for the fiftieth time. When I study with YL, I actually understand and feel what those pages are saying. I hear something from that speech that I never picked up on before.

Too often, I think people feel like there is one path that you have to take to be close to God. Like any relationship you’ll ever find yourself in, what works for one person might not work for you.

For me, church is intimidating. At least right now I don’t see myself making an effort to go. Instead I find that I feel the closest to God whenever I am growing in my relationship alongside my friends who are growing just the same or dancing around at a YL event full of people who are genuinely excited to spread God’s word.

IMG_2401

Whether you believe in God or a god is a decision you have to make. When you do, your whole outlook on life will change.

XOXO,

Caitlin

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. John 15:7

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Relationship With God

  1. It is amazing that you took the initiative to go to young life! You go! I have always loved how you end yours posts with scripture because it reminds me to pray! God bless!❤😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

