TRAVEL

TRAILBLAZER: LONG POINT TRAIL, SUMMERSVILLE, WV

Long Point Overlook
One of my favorite things about living in West Virginia is the beauty. Everywhere you go has a natural splendor. Today, I invite you to join me on one of my favorite local gems, the Long Point Trail in Summersville, WV.


This 3.8 mile out-and-back trail takes you to the beautiful Long Point Overlook over Summersville Lake. Summersville Lake is the largest lake in West Virginia and offers boating, rock climbing, scuba diving, and more. The entire trail is in a forested area and very picturesque. If you’re particularly adventurous, you can explore the caves and cracks around the overlook. 

I wouldn’t say it’s an unknown treasure, but the trail usually has little traffic. 

Besides some rolling grades, it’s not a difficult hike. You’ve probably heard the saying “it’s the journey that counts, not the destination.” In this case, I’d say both are pretty great.


After you’ve finished your hike, refresh at Fat Eddie’s and experience the best ice cream in the WORLD. It’s a fact, you can check 😉

Did you enjoy this post? What are some of your favorite trails? Let me know in the comments!

XOXO,

    Caitlin

You are my place of quiet retreat. I wait for your word to renew me. Psalm 119:114

Leave a Reply

